Carbs Ginnie Pig the BAR

[ Follow Ups ] [ Post Followup ] [ KillCarb Forum ]

Posted by Ben on April 19, 2011 at 15:36:46

Hello Friends-

I wanted to share my story on behalf of many Smog Stations that were cited by CARBs Gennie Pig. The Bureau of Automotive Repair.

Has anyone what smog stations go through? I do. I am a Smog Technician licensed by the Bureau of Automotive Repair and I have to say I am not happy with the latest legislation that has been enacted. In February of 2009 the station I am currently working for was cited by the BAR $500 for not correctly checking and failing a car even though the car had clean tailpipe emissions. As mechanics (Sorry for not being politically correct with saying Technician) we all know ignition timing plays a roll in a cars performance, it also plays a roll in emissions. Its a simple principle of ignition. If you fire the plug too soon the fuel mixture does not burn all the way resulting in a Rich Air/Fuel mixture, Fire it too late the burn snuffs itself out resulting in nothing burning and creating a lean Air/Fuel Mixture. The BAR during the citation meeting stated they had set the timing beyond specification. If this were true the emissions should be failing because of the the simple ignition principle of ignition of a internal combustion engine. That being said I pleaded this case to them and let me off of the hook. They did not. I had 30 days to do the fallowing: Shop pays the fine and receives a one year probation, now three years under current legislation, or appeal in a administrative hearing which the court will always favor CARBs Ginnie Pigs. Here is the kicker, when the BAR issues the citation to a Station both the owner and technician receive one which become one. This simply means if one of us decided to appeal we both would have to appeal individually. Does this sound fair?